My struggle with Acne: Tips and tricks

Hey you lovelies! I am going to be blogging a lot more often than I did because I have holidays for the next three months and I have lot’s of new content coming up this summer, so stay tuned.

I have had acne for a really long time now, it initially started around eighth grade and it got worse with time. When I was around 14-15, I had severe acne and I would even hesitate to go out or show my face. I remember, my family and I were on a New Year’s trip  two years ago and I broke out so bad during that time that I’d literally wear a hat to cover myself. I was so self-conscious for no god damn reason, I was never like this. I was always really comfortable with myself which is why this was harder for me to deal with. I visited a dermatologist last year, he completely helped me clear my skin in a span of three months, I occasionally still break out but never as bad I used too. I’m writing this post to help people out there, I have listed out some tricks, methods and products that worked for my skin but keep in mind that I’m no doctor, these are just some tips that I have picked up over the years.

  • Visit a dermatologist: if you have really bad or severe acne, consult a doctor immediately.
  • DRINK WATER: I have had some health issued that I have been dealing with this past two months and the only advice I consistently got is to drink water, water is the key to good skin and health.
  • Do not ever sleep with Make-up on
  • Eat healthy: Make sure you don’t eat too much of oily or fatty foods and work out regularly.
  • Use an anti-inflammatory gel: My doctor gave me an anti-inflammatory, anti-bacterial gel to apply as a base twice a day, I have used this religiously and it’s by far the best treatment to acne, it instantly reduces redness, inflammation and spots. I use this sometimes just on top of a pimple or a redness directly. You can get this in your local drug store or a pharmacy.
  • When I get a really giant pimple, I mix benzol peroxide(2.5%)  with a little bit of moisturizer and I apply it directly on to my pimple. It works like magic, I apply it while going to bed and by morning, it would have reduced drastically. however, it is important to mix benzol peroxide with a moisturizer and then apply it otherwise it will leave marks on your face.

I have listed some products below to help fight acne

1)THE BODY SHOP TEA TREE SKIN CLEARING FACIAL WASH

Indian residents:  http://www.nykaa.com/skin-care/shop-by-concern/acne-treatment/the-body-shop-tea-tree-skin-clearing-facial-wash.html?root=catg&ptype=product

2) La Roche-Posay Effaclar duo + Acne treatment cream

http://www.nykaa.com/skin-care/shop-by-concern/acne-treatment/la-roche-posay-effaclar-duo-corrective-unclogging-anti-imperfection-care.html?root=catg&ptype=product

3) Kiehl’s Clearly corrective dark spot solution

http://www.nykaa.com/skin-care/shop-by-concern/acne-treatment/kiehl-s-clearly-corrective-dark-spot-solution.html?root=catg&ptype=product#

 

These were my remedial steps to prevent and cure Acne, let me know your stories and what you use to treat it in the comments.

Yours,

Praagna.

Leave a Reply

