LIVING WITH GERD: ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT ACID REFLUX

Around Mid-March this year I was diagnosed with GERD( Gastro-esophageal reflux disease) or commonly called acid reflux and I did get an endoscopy, my doctor said it was drug-induced since I had been taking antibiotics and my eating habits were questionable. It’s basically a lifestyle disease or a condition and it’s quite common

SYMPTOMS:

So I felt nauseated for a long time and I would feel queasy and irritated, I had frequent heart burns and severe headaches, my sister( who is a medical student) suggested I had acidity so which is when I went to the doctor. I also put on 3 kgs and felt bloated throughout.

Treatment and Recovery:

The main cause of my acidity was because  of my unhealthy food habits, I ate out a lot and I’m Indian which means I eat a lot of spicy food and my doctor also felt it was stress induced since I’m in my final year and things can get crazy.  I was on a pill for almost 6 weeks and after I went off the pill, I was alright but if I have to be consistent since it is a lifestyle disease. Even though, it’s not a fatal condition, it does cause hindrance to your day-to-day routine and you always feel tired and bloated which is why I made a conscious effort to eat healthy.

What not to eat:

There isn’t a lot of restrictions and you can can consume all of this once you’re off the pill and depending on how your body responds you can go back to the way you used to, it’s only a matter of time but when you are undergoing treatment or you feel queasy, follow this:

  • CHOCOLATE: I cannot stress this enough, chocolates are the worst for GERD sufferers.
  • COFFEE/TEA- 1 or 2 cups when you’re done with your treatment should be enough.
  • SPICY FOOD: it makes your symptoms worst
  • TOMATO/ONION/GARLIC
  • TAMARIND
  • CITRUS FRUITS( ORANGE, MUSAMBI, LEMON)

Other than the foods mentioned above you can pretty much eat anything else, if you are suffering from Gerd or acidity, it’s not the end of the world. EAT CLEAN and you shall be fine.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

